2023 Owl Awards

BirdLife South Africa recognizes the valuable contributions that people and organisations make to the conservation of South Africa’s birds and their habitats. This recognition is in the form of the presentation of our annual Owl Awards to deserving recipients.

The 2023 Owl Awards event was hosted at our head office at Isdell House in Johannesburg, as well as virtually via Zoom, on 19 September 2023.

You can view the recipients of the 2023 Owl Awards, as well as read their full citations, below.

Barbara Bickel

Dominic Naidoo

Karen Bullen

Biodiversity Law Centre

Gavin Walker

Alberto Vaccari & Lily Bickerstaffe

Carin Malan

John Clements

Priscilla Beeton

Owlet Award recipient

Jandré Verster

Eagle-Owl Award recipients

Vincent Parker

Nick Prentice

Previous Years

BirdLife South Africa’s 2022 Owl Awards event was hosted at Isdell House on Tuesday 20 September 2022.

You can view photos of the event and the winners, as well as read all the winners’ citations below.