The BirdLife South Africa Owl Awards ceremony originated from our need to acknowledge the companies and individuals who donate their time and money to the organisation that make it possible to continue all our conservation programmes and projects. The first Owl Award ceremony took place in 1999.

BirdLife South Africa is making an enormous contribution to the conservation of our country's birds and their habitats. These contributions are achieved through the collaborative efforts of BirdLife South Africa's staff, volunteers, members and donors. During BirdLife South Africa's annual Owl Award function, the contribution of some of the people and companies who are helping "give conservation wings" are acknowledged through the presentation of trophies and certificates.

Owl Awards 2018
Owl Award 2018 recipients low res BX6A7130

Congratulations to the recipients of BirdLife South Africa's 2018 Owl Awards. These people and organisations are contributing to the conservation of South Africa's birds, and their dedication and hard work is appreciated.

Owl Awards: Alastair Campbell, Buyekezwa Polo, Craig Nattrass, Faansie Peacock, John Carter, Junior Gabela, Nature Valley’s Trust, South African National Biodiversity Institute, and Sheree Bega.

Owlet Award: Joshua Olszewski

Eagle-Owl Awards: Derek Engelbrecht, Eskom


For more information, please contact BirdLife South Africa on 011 789 1122 or email Emma Askes